top of page


The colour of each belt corresponds to the level of experience and ability of the individual wearing it.

Everyone begins wearing a white belt. From white they progress through the respective levels of yellow, orange, green, purple, brown and black.

The Japanese term kyu to refer to the coloured belts and dan to refer to black belts.

All Kyu tests require the student to demonstrate three components:

1) Kihon (Basic techniques)

2) Kata (Choreographed pattern of movements)

3) Kumite (Sparring).

 All three components are equally graded. Ranking tests are not about the student’s ability to defend themselves or win competitions, but rather measuring their personal progress as they move up the Kyu and Dan ranks.

Karate Belts_edited_edited.png
bottom of page